Theft Crime Lawyers in Fort Myers
70+ Years of Combined Legal Experience at Your Defense
Have you been accused of or charged for a theft crime in Florida? While the circumstances might not seem too serious upfront, do not get the wrong idea. The prosecutors working against you will not show any leniency, even if you are charged with a nonviolent theft crime.
Start building your defense with the guidance of Powell, Jackman, Stevens & Ricciardi, P.A. and our Fort Myers theft crime attorneys. Our eclectic team of criminal defense lawyers can use our diverse backgrounds and collective experiences with Florida laws to establish an unshakable defense that seeks the best possible outcome for your case, be it a charge reduction, total case dismissal, or a not guilty verdict. We don’t rest until we have done all we can in your defense.
Dial (239) 970-6844 to arrange a no-cost, confidential consultation today.
Florida Theft Charge Details
In Florida’s criminal law, theft occurs when someone knowingly takes or uses property they do not own without the permission of its owner, or with the intent to remove its ownership and use from the rightful owner. The removal of property can be temporary or permanent, too, meaning borrowing an item without permission could be enough grounds to bring forth theft charges.
There are five main tiers of theft charges in Florida:
- Second degree petty theft: Property is valued less than $100; punishable by up to a $500 fine and up to 60 days in jail or 6 months of probation.
- First degree petty theft: Property is valued less than $300; punishable by up to a $1,000 fine and up to 12 months in jail and/or 12 months of probation.
- Third degree grand theft: Property is valued less than $20,000, or is a firearm, vehicle, farm animal, large quantities of fruit, fire extinguishers, most narcotics, certain road signs and construction site equipment, and certain gasses; punishable up to a $5,000 fine and up to 5 years in prison and/or 5 years of probation.
- Second degree grand theft: Property is valued less than $100,000; punishable by up to a $10,000 fine and 15 years in prison and/or 15 years of probation.
- First degree grand theft: Property is valued greater than $100,000; punishable by up to a $10,000 fine and 30 years in prison and/or 30 years of probation.
Building a Defense Against Theft Crime Charges
At Powell, Jackman, Stevens & Ricciardi, P.A., we know that every criminal charge is defensible with the right amount of defense work and dedication. Do not let the prosecution scare you into thinking that a conviction for your theft charges is guaranteed based on the evidence they claim to have against you. Allow our experienced theft crime defense lawyers in Fort Myers act on your behalf instead. While you focus on taking care of yourself after a legal scare, we focus on constructing a solid defense.
You can speak with a criminal defense attorney today about your charges. Just call (239) 970-6844 to begin.