You CAN Check to See if Your License Is Suspended. Here’s How.
Not sure if your driver’s license is still suspended? Florida makes it easy to check. It’s as easy as visiting the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicle’s website and entering your license number.
If your license is suspended, stop driving immediately. It is a crime in Florida to knowingly drive while your license is suspended or revoked. It’s not the end of the world if your license is suspended and, depending on the reason for the suspension, you may be able to clear it up quickly, or get a hardship license until the suspension or revocation time period passes.
Why Was My Driver’s License Suspended?
There are a number of reasons your license may be suspended, and the duration may vary depending on the reason:
- Delinquent on child support
- Too many points on your license
- Violation of traffic laws resulting in serious bodily injury or death
- Inability to safely operate your vehicle, usually as a result of a medical conditions
- Failure to complete a driver improvement class
- Failure to appear in court or failure to pay a fine
- As a result of a criminal case such as DUI, various drug offenses, and even petit-theft convictions
Driving While License Suspended or Revoked is a crime in Florida and it is enhanceable offense, which means the penalties will change in severity with more convictions:
- A first conviction is a second degree misdemeanor punishable by up to 60 days in jail and/or probation not to exceed 6 months, and a fine up to $500.00.
- A second conviction is a first degree misdemeanor punishable by to up to 1 year in jail and/or 12 months of probation, and a fine of up to $1,000.00.
- A third conviction, or more, is a third degree felony punishable by up to 5 years in prison and/or 5 years of probation, and a fine of up to $5,000.00 You will also potentially be labeled a Habitual Traffic Offender, which can result in an extended license suspension that may not be eligible for a hardship license during the first year.
A Habitual Traffic Offender in Florida defined by Florida Statute 322.264 and outlines the methods used to deem you as a Habitual Traffic Offender. The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles will look at your 5-year history to make this determination.
Our experienced defense attorneys can explain the reason for your suspension and your eligibility for a hardship license. We can also assist you in getting the suspension or revocation removed. If any criminal charges arose from driving with a suspended or revoked license, we can help with that as well.
For proven legal defense against your suspended license charges, call Powell, Jackman, Stevens & Ricciardi: Your Advocates. We handle cases in Fort Meyers and throughout Lee County, FL and can be reached at (239) 970-6844. To contact us online, fill out a case evaluation form here and someone from our office will be in touch shortly.